Call for great translational bioinformatics papers 3/08-3/09

Friends,

I have agreed once again to give a talk at the AMIA Summit on Translational Bioinformatics ) on the “year in review” highlighting some of the most important papers in our field of translational bioinformatics.  Last year’s talk is online.

I am writing to request that you nominate papers that you think are important for me to include from the last 12-15 months.  Nominations of your own papers are fine, but much less compelling than nominations of others’ papers (you can collude though…).   Here are the criteria:

  • I define translational bioinformatics broadly, but expect it to involve molecular-level (genes, small molecules) data AND clinical-level data (diseases, symptoms, drugs)
  • I define bioinformatics as the creation and application of novel methods of analysis/discovery

I have been trolling the sites myself, but want to make sure I ask colleagues in bioinformatics for their thoughts.

I would like to highlight papers that have done a good, creative job at the above, and have a chance to become “classics” over the next 10-20 years.   I expect to discuss about ~15 papers in “1-2 slide” detail and then to have another list of 10 “noteworthy but not discussed in detail” papers.

I would like these nominations by 5 PM on 3/11.  Thanks for your help.  If you don’t want to post publically, you can send to me by email at russ.altman-at-stanford.edu.

4 comments

  1. I would recommend two papers that use bioinformatics to suggest improvements in cancer diagnosis and cancer prognosis.

    http://www.biomedcentral.com/1755-8794/1/57
    Discovery of DNA methylation markers in cervical cancer using relaxation ranking by Ongenaert et al. BMC Medical Genomics 1:57

    http://www.biomedcentral.com/1741-7015/6/26
    Genomic variation in myeloma: design, content, and initial application of the Bank On A Cure SNP Panel to detect associations with progression-free survival
    Van Ness et al. BMC Medicine 1:57

    The second paper has an associated commentary
    http://www.biomedcentral.com/1741-7015/6/27

    Although these are not self-cites, I do work for the publisher.

Leave a Reply

