Blogs are hard!

Well, maybe you all know this, but I am having a heck of a time coming up with material that is relevant and (hopefully) interesting for this blog.  These difficulties are occurring despite help from my blog angel (she knows who she is) who is constantly feeding me excellent ideas.  Why are blogs hard?

  • Things are busy and you need to take out time to be a little reflective about stuff.  That’s hard when you are just running and running all day.
  • In order to opine, you need to know what you are talking about.  That usually requires doing some homework.
  • It is difficult to formulate ideas alone.  Almost everything I do is as part of a team, and this is a much better way (generally speaking) to draw conclusions or make decisions.  If I really wanted excellent blog items, I think I should work with a team to formulate good thoughts, debate them and then present them.  But I’m not sure that’s part of the blog culture, which is marked by rugged individualism

OK, that’s my thoughts about why I have blog block.  I will get going again soon.  Blog angel has sent some great ideas, and I just need to ponder them, form opinions, and commit them to screen.

5 comments

  1. From my own experience I have periods that I blog a lot and periods when I can go months posting only one or two blogs posts. The good thing about blogging is that a lot of people use RSS feeds so although it is hard to gain the attention of your peers, losing it will harder.

    I’ll make a very selfish suggestion :), maybe you could post blurbs of papers you find interesting.

  2. I agree 1000000%. it’s difficult to please people and to constantly be on your toes on what is going on in the world.

    for me, i enjoy blogs that have a theme and go with that theme solely. like on technology, or sports, or food. if there’s a blog about fifty different things, it’s tough to stick with it and continually read it.

    cheers with this blog as it is quite entertaining though!

Leave a Reply

