Where is the web going?

I just learned that there has been talk of Web 3.0.  I haven’t even fully understood Web 2.0 yet.  I know a little about the semantic web, and many other alleged features of the “new web.”  These discussions bother me a little.  The whole point about the web now is that the cat is out of the bag and a billion people are doing whatever with it.   There is no versioning.   There is incremental evolution.  It’s like talking about Humans 2.0 and Humans 3.0:  these distinctions don’t make sense because human development is a continuum, not a set of releases.   I would urge whomever is thinking about Web 2.0 and 3.0 to release simple and killer new capabilities, and let people innovate with them.  Complex capabilities, however promising, will rarely be adopted (read about Corba and XML/SOAP, e.g.).   I recognize that I might be myopic or wrong here, but that’s my gut on versioning the web = silly.

Leave a Reply

